April TBR

It’s taken me a little longer than usual to get this up, but I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to read this month. With everything that’s going on, I find myself having a harder time sitting down and just reading. Luckily, the weather is getting nicer and my parents have comfortable outdoor furniture. This month I plan on taking full advantage of that, reading in the backyard while Yzma runs around like the goof she is.

**For anyone who’s discovered my TBR system for the first time, I’ve organized the books on my TBR by Physical Books, AudioBooks, and eBooks. Oh, and Library books, too. **

 

Total books:

  1. On The Come Up by Angie Thomas
  2. Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton (Heart of Thorns, Book 1)
  3. The Bad Mother’s Detox by Suzy K Quinn (The Bad Mother Series, Book 2)
  4. Fire Study by Maria V Snyder (Poison Study, Book 3; The Chronicles of Ixia, Book 3)
  5. Sea Glass by Maria V Snyder (Glass, Book 2; The Chronicles of Ixia, Book 5)
  6. To Dream is to Die by Sarah Lampkin (Dead Dreamer, Book 1)
  7. To Wake the Dead by Sarah Lampkin (Dead Dreamer, Book 2)
  8. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

 


 

On The Come Up by Angie Thomas: All Bri wants to be is one of the greatest rappers of all time but she’ll settle for making it out of her neighbourhood one day. As the daughter of an underground rap legend who died before he hit big, Bri knows she’s got huge shoes to fill. Now that her mother’s unexpectedly lost her job, Bri’s struggles in life have gotten that much harder. Music no longer becomes a fantasy – it’s something Bri must succeed at in order to help provide for her family.

Ahem. So, we’ve been here before. The only difference? I forgot the physical copy of this book in my apartment when I went out of town for the quarantine. Next time I’m there to pick things up, I plan on grabbing this and a couple of other books. Because I’m determined to finish On The Come Up this month.

Heart of Thorns by Bree Barton: 17 year old Mia Rose has pledge her life to hunting Gwyrach, the same demons that killed her mother. When her dad pledges her marriage to the prince, she’s forbidden from taking up her knife again. She instead finds herself being forced into silk gowns. After the wedding goes horribly wrong does she realize she has the same magic that she’s sworn to destroy.

This is the second book that I plan on grabbing when I visit my apartment later this week. I might grab a couple of other books while I’m at it, but Heart of Thorns is on my list of books to finish this month. Wish me luck.

The Bad Mother’s Detox by Suzy K Quinn: Juliette had a baby with a man who certainly isn’t ready to be a father. After he left her at the alter, Juliette is determined to put Nick behind her – not only for herself, but also for their daughter Daisy. She might need her father in her life, but Juliette doesn’t need to let him control hers. Trying to cut Nick out of her life and make things work with Alex doesn’t sound easy… but Juilette is willing to try if it means finally finding her own happiness.

Fire Study by Maria V Snyder: The world is growing uncomfortable with the knowledge that Yelena’s a Soulfinder. Already her unusual powers and her past have set her apart. As the Council debates Yelena’s fate, she received a disturbing message: a plot is rising against her homeland, led by a mysterious sorcerer she’s defeated before.

Yes I’ve read this book recently. Yes, I’ve technically read the next book in the series already. But I realized that I haven’t posted a review on Fire Study and wanted to rectify that. Also, there’s bits of the story that I can’t remember perfectly. I want to reread this story before jumping into Sea Glass. As I can’t wait to read Sea Glass, I look forward to picking up the audiobook to Fire Study while I continue to work from home.

Sea Glass by Maria V Snyder: Opal’s glass messengers are more sought after than ever. Once used solely by the Councillors and magicians, other powerful factions are now vying for control and control of the messengers means control over Sitia. Unfortunately for Opal, that also means having control over her. On top of this, Opal’s goal of proving blood magic is still being used is being met with resistance. When everyone she respects and trusts doubts her, Opal begins to doubt herself. She needs to decide who to believe, who to trust, and who actually has control.

To Dream is to Die by Sarah Lampkin: Eighteen year old Brenna Whit has just entered college as a freshman and is hiding a dark secret. Thanks to an accident that happened three years ago, every time she falls asleep she wanders to the Fade. She tries to keep it secret from everyone, but when she sees someone watching her in spirit form, she fears her secret is out.

As this book is said to be perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Supernatural, I look forward to jumping into this world. I can’t wait to learn about the Fade and how Brenna deals with everything that’s being thrown her way.

To Wake the Dead by Sarah Lampkin: Brenna teeters the line between the living and the dead. Now a sophomore at Nephesburg College, she’s determined to focus on the waking world. But with her own soul trying to kill her and a new Dead Dreamer fighting for power, Brenna finds herself dragged back to the world of the dead. The Gatekeepers are doing everything they can to restore their power over Nephesburg and Brenna finds she needs to decide what’s more important: continuing to hide her secret or reveal herself and fight for waht she believes is right.

Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick: Anna Kendrick’s Autobiography is said to be filled with her razor sharp wit, and her extraordinary and charmingly ordinary stories. She recounts the absurdities she’s experiences throughout her life, including her way to and from the heart of pop culture and her double life as a middle school student and Broadway star. Of course, there’s going to be much more than that.

I’ll admit, I hadn’t planned on picking this book up when I first heard about it. While I enjoy Anna Kendrick’s work, I’m not the biggest fan of Autobiographies by famous people. However, a really good friend of mine absolutely adored this read and suggested I check out the Audiobook. So now I plan on listening to this read while doing my work. I’ve heard it’s fantastic.

 


 

If there’s anything this quarantine has taught me, it’s that I’m not great at reading when I have a lot of time to do so. I need to do other things, I can’t just live in books all the time. While I once thoguht that it’d be a wish come true to have an endless amount of time to sit and read, I’m starting to realize I need to do other things as well. Like get out of the house occasionally. I’ll certainly be looking forward to the moment that’s possible again.

How are you dealing with so much time at home? Has it thrown you into a reading slump, like me, or are you loving all of this time to read? What are your reading plans for the month?

 

3 thoughts on “April TBR

  1. I know exactly what you’re saying. It’s harder to concentrate. I’ve listened to 3 audiobooks since we’ve been staying at home and read only one book. I also find I need to mix things up and move around a bit. Doing a lot more walking! I think I will start a new book tonight, though. Thanks for sharing your list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s